Sribagh Agreement

The Sribagh Pact was an agreement between the political leaders of the coastal regions of Andhra and Rayalaseema during the separate Andhra on 16 November 1937. Historically, the Sribagh Agreement was an important topic for the inhabitants of the Rayalaseema region with regard to development issues because of the attitude of the andhra leaders of the time. On November 16, 1937, the leaders of the two regions met in Sribagh, the home of Kashinathuni Nageshwara Rao, famous owner of the media, founder of Andhra Patrika and Amrutanjan. The committee considered the conditions to be met if Rayalaseema were to cooperate with coastal districts to claim an Andhra province. This agreement was called the Sribagh Pact or the Sribagh Agreement. Since the acquisition of South India by the British at the end of the 18th century, Andhra had merged with the state of Madras. When the Andhra movement began, the leaders of Coastal Andhra insisted on supporting Rayalaseema`s leaders to strengthen the problem. But Rayalaseema`s leaders were not prepared to walk hand-in-hand with the coastal guides, as they had their own doubts about the development of their region. On November 16, 1937, the leaders of the two regions met in the house of Kashinathuni Nageshwara Rao, a well-known media owner known as Sribagh. That is why this agreement became known as the Sribagh Agreement. [1] It was an agreement for the development of the Rayalaseema region on an equal footing with the coastal areas and for the formation of consensus among all regions before the formation of Andhra province.

Several grassroots organizations and leaders of the Rayalaseema movement organized a Dharna on Saturday at the city`s Tower Clock Centre to obtain provisions due to Rayalaseemas` sribagh agreement between Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra on November 16, 1937. People may confuse the agreement of Sri Bagh and gentleman. While the Sri-Bhag agreement exists between the leaders of Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema, the gentlemen`s agreement exists between Andhra and the leaders of Telangana. In 1956, when the states were reorganized according to the language, it was proposed to telugu-speaking persons in Hyderabad State to merge with the state of Andhra. The heads of state of Hyderabad were concerned about the merger, so the Gentleman`s Agreement was signed on 20 February 1956 at Hyderabad House in New Delhi under Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru to protect the rights of the Telangana region. The signatories to the agreement were K. Koti Reddy, Kalluri Subba Rao, L. Subbarami Reddy, Bhogaraju Pattabhi Seetharamayya, Konda Venkatappyya, Pappuri Ramacharyulu, R.Venkatappa Naidu, H. Seetharama Reddy` Organization for the Protection of Democratic Rights President Mayakunta Srinivasulu, while spearheading the dharna on the 82nd anniversary of the pact, said that the allocation of river water was a key topic that , despite an agreement that Rayalaseema would be identical quantum and priority in the distribution of unresolved irrigation. On 1 October 1953, the state of Andhra and Kurnool became the capital of the new state, under the terms of the Sri-Bagh Pact between the leaders of Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema. The agreement was that if the High Court were created in Coastal Andhra, the capital would be in Rayalaseema, but the people here were betrayed and both the capital and the high court set up there, he noted.

On 10 October 1953, a new state of Andhra was established with Kurnool as the capital under the Sribagh Pact. After the founding of the state of Andhra Pradesh in 1956, the capital and supreme court moved to Hyderabad, Telangana.